Flinders blowhole

One of my most recent adventures was down on the coast, near Flinders beach.

The only downfall to this post is I am not 100% sure on where this exactly is..

Often, my friends and I will just pull over wherever we see fit and start exploring.

This day was a lot of fun, I spent hours clambering over big rocks; breathing the cleanest and freshest air and poking around in rock pools.

I’m not sure if we were technically supposed to be down where we were; if the tide was in we would have been in a lot of trouble. Fortunately, we went down relatively early for maximum play time!

There is something  amazing about observing mother nature in full force. The surge and power of the ocean can be truly humbling to witness. It was hard to capture in photos, but I tried my very best. The waves were huge and slowly simmered down to foamy bubbles as they cascaded through the rocks and creeped closer to shore.

Again, I apologise for the quality of the photos but some surprisingly look okay this time around.

A few hours into our venture, after climbing around the edge of the cliffs; we found this impressive cave. It wasn’t very deep but was still awesome to explore. It was dark, damp & had an eery feel about it.

photo 2

This was our view for most of the day.

photo-5

photo-4

We also came across a number of awesome little rock pools. (This photo, especially terrible.. Please note the artistic inclusion of the side of my sunglasses)

photo-7

So, where is this place? We started off at Flinders blowhole; and crept around the edge of the cliffs around there. As the website states, please take care if you do go exploring around these types of areas. Waves can catch you off guard and often the rocks can be completely submerged under water – depending on the time of day.

 

Leave a comment